Update:  December 2018

Greetings, it’s probably about time that I provided some sort of update to this initiative. After all, this will be my first original content on this website since 2008, which is kind of sad given the initiative occupied most of my free time and financing between 2004 and 2008 – roughly 10,000 dollars, and probably that many hours!

We were never able to meet the seemingly-minor goal of 250 signups in order to begin the Elections Canada registration process for this new Party.

At the same time, one is always concerned about splitting the vote for like-minded democratic reform parties in any ridings in which we were to run a candidate. This is a legitimate concern, as it is the reason the old-style political parties continue to win all-powerful majority governments by slim pluralities, often well below 40 percent of the vote.

As well, on a personal note, in 2008 I discovered my true personal calling – creative writing – which has distracted me from this challenging political venture.

I’ve certainly not lost any enthusiasm for the objectives of the Democracy Party of Canada, but if someday I can make a name for myself as a writer – ten years after I began, I’m still struggling there, too – I intend to devote the time and funding to push this political agenda anew.

Certainly, our country still needs it!

The last time that democratic reform within a fiscally-sane envelope was talked about seriously was over 25 years ago. My, how the powerful – I guess we now call them “elites” – are adept at deflecting and deferring up-and-coming idealisms!

So that’s where the Democracy Party stands: I don’t even know if I still have the out-of-date voter declarations that we collected, but I do have a couple of like-minded people ready to help out, the trademarks and I.P. are legally secure, this 2008-era website remains up and running, and most of all the need for democratic reform is as great as ever.

In the near future, maybe we’ll just “threaten and cajole” the existing government into “stealing our policies”, along with the veiled threat that if not we’ll register this party for the next election and begin to chip away seriously at their voter support!

That may sound more like “interest group” or lobbying methodology, than our stated goals of giving Canadians the power to control the destiny of their beloved country through an electoral option. But, at present we can only challenge the “elites” by using the rules they’ve laid out for us. Maybe being a pre-electoral lobby group is the only way.

So, thank you for your patience, and keep an eye on us, for eventually we will reignite our effort to bring Canada’s democracy into the 21st Century.

Steve Garry
Founder and CES (Chief Envelope Stuffer)
Democracy Party of Canada

Click here to view our Intellectual Property Information (logo, trademarks, etc.)

To get involved with The Democracy Party of Canada in its registration
with Elections Canada, go
here.  And thank you very much!
Drop Down Menu © Ricom Productions http://www.ricom.co.uk


© 2004-2016  The Democracy Party of Canada, all rights reserved.
Authorized by the official agent for the Democracy Party
Contact Us

This site is the property of The Party and may not
be reproduced in whole or in part without permission
Privacy Policy
and Terms of Use

Mise à jour:  décembre 2018

Bonjour, c’est probablement à peu près le temps que j’ai fait le point sur cette initiative. Après tout, ce sera mon premier contenu original sur ce site web depuis 2008, ce qui est un peu triste étant donné que le Parti a occupé la majeure partie de mon temps libre et de mon financement entre 2004 et 2008 - environ 10 000 dollars, et probablement autant d’heures!

Nous n'avons jamais pu atteindre l'objectif apparemment mineur de 250 inscriptions afin de commencer le processus d'inscription d'Élections Canada pour ce nouveau parti.

En même temps, on se préoccupe toujours de diviser le vote pour les partis de réforme démocratique aux vues similaires dans les circonscriptions où nous devions présenter un candidat. C’est une préoccupation légitime, car c’est la raison pour laquelle les partis politiques à l’ancienne style continuent de remporter des gouvernements majoritaires tout-puissants à l’aide de minces pluralités, souvent bien inférieures à 40% des suffrages.

De plus, sur une note personnelle, j'ai découvert en 2008 ma véritable vocation personnelle - la création littéraire - qui m'a distrait de cette entreprise politique difficile.

Je n’ai certes pas perdu mon enthousiasme pour les objectifs du Parti de la démocratie du Canada, mais si un jour je pouvais me faire un nom en tant qu’écrivain - dix ans après mes débuts, j’ai encore du mal à y parvenir - j’ai l’intention de consacrer le temps et le financement nécessaires pour repousser cet agenda politique.

Certes, notre pays en a toujours besoin!

La dernière fois que l'on parlait sérieusement de réforme démocratique dans le cadre d'une enveloppe budgétaire saine, c'était il y a plus de 25 ans. Comment les puissants - je suppose que nous les appelons maintenant des «élites» - sont aptes à détourner et à différer les idéismes à venir!

C’est la position du Parti de la démocratie: je ne sais même pas si j’ai encore les déclarations d’électeur périmées que nous avons recueillies, mais j’ai deux personnes aux vues similaires qui sont prêtes à aider, les marques déposées et I.P. sont juridiquement sécurisés, ce site Web datant de 2008 reste opérationnel et le besoin de réforme démocratique est plus que jamais nécessaire.

Dans un avenir proche, nous pourrions peut-être simplement «menacer et cajoler» le gouvernement actuel pour qu'il «vole nos politiques», ainsi que la menace voilée selon laquelle, sinon, nous enregistrerions ce parti pour les prochaines élections et commencerions à nous attaquer sérieusement leur soutien électeur!

Cela peut ressembler davantage à une méthode de "groupe d'intérêt" ou de lobbying qu'à nos objectifs déclarés de donner aux Canadiens le pouvoir de contrôler le destin de leur pays bien aimé par le biais d'une option électorale. Mais à l’heure actuelle, nous ne pouvons contester les «élites» qu’en appliquant les règles qu’elles nous ont établies. Peut-être qu’un groupe de pression préélectoral est la seule solution.

Alors, merci de votre patience et surveillez-nous, car nous allons éventuellement relancer nos efforts pour amener la démocratie canadienne au XXIe siècle.


Steve Garry
Founder and CES (Chief Envelope Stuffer)
Democracy Party of Canada


Click here to view our Intellectual Property Information (logo, trademarks, etc.)

To get involved with The Democracy Party of Canada in its registration
with Elections Canada, go
here.  And thank you very much!
Drop Down Menu © Ricom Productions http://www.ricom.co.uk


© 2004-2016  The Democracy Party of Canada, all rights reserved.
Authorized by the official agent for the Democracy Party
Contact Us

This site is the property of The Party and may not
be reproduced in whole or in part without permission
Privacy Policy
and Terms of Use